Lords approve three devo mayors


Category: Liverpool City Region, Sheffield City Region, West Midlands

Before Parliament began its summer recess, the House of Lords approved legislation for three mayoral combined authorities: Liverpool, Sheffield and the West Midlands. However, some Peers, including Labour’s Communities and Local Government Spokesperson, Lord Beecham, did not give the regulations their overwhelming support. During the debate he said: “Huge questions go unanswered about finance, accountability and structures to different degrees in different areas, and we do not know whether the new prime minister, her chancellor and the secretary ​of state share the apparent enthusiasm of their predecessors for this policy.”

Leading The Way

Our DevoIntelligence Service keeps you up to date with the latest developments across the UK as they emerge.

Other News